Waste & Recycling


2006 Canadian Environment Awards winners

The Canadian Environment Awards hosted a gala evening at Vancouver's Pan Pacific Hotel to recognize winners during ...

The Canadian Environment Awards hosted a gala evening at Vancouver’s Pan Pacific Hotel to recognize winners during its fifth anniversary celebration of environmental achievement. The Canadian Environment Awards is a major event during Canadian Environment Week and it celebrates the commitment of Canadians who are helping to protect, preserve and restore the country’s environment. The evening was hosted by broadcasting personalities Vicki Gabereau and Robert Groulx. Representatives from three levels of government were on hand to congratulate the winners.

The Community Awards, the centrepiece of the Canadian Environment Awards, honours individuals and groups of Canadians chosen from more than 130 nominations submitted by the Canadian public. Gold and Silver winners in six categories of the Community Awards were announced (see below).

“These extraordinary Canadians are making a real difference in communities across Canada,” says Clive Mather, president and CEO of Shell Canada, founding partner of the awards. “We hope their stories will inspire many others to become involved in activities to improve our environment.”

Mr. Mather presented the Gold and Silver recipients with prizes of $5,000 and $2,500, respectively, which they will donate to the environmental cause of their choice. All winners also received framed plaques donated by Canada Post and expressly designed for the Canadian Environment Awards.

The Citation of Lifetime Achievement was presented to Sheila Watt-Cloutier, who also delivered the evening’s keynote address. As chair of the Inuit Circumpolar Conference, Ms. Watt-Cloutier has worked tirelessly for environmental protection and sustainability for Inuit, and her leadership and influence have been pivotal in helping Canadians and the world at large understand the significance of such key issues as persistent contaminants and climate change.

Wildlife artist Robert Bateman was presented with the inaugural Ideas for Life Award, a distinction given in recognition of efforts to promote conservation and elevate environmental awareness through excellence in the arts, entertainment and design.

The Junior and Senior winners (see below) of The Green Team Challenge were also honoured for environmental projects at school and in their communities. The Canadian Environment Awards is a partnership between Canadian Geographic Enterprises, the Government of Canada, and Shell Canada. The Canadian Environment Awards 2006 is supported by 14 Canadian corporations. Shell Canada sponsors The Community Awards; Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Co. sponsors the Citation of Lifetime Achievement; TD Bank Financial Group sponsors The Green Team Challenge; and Panasonic Canada sponsors the Ideas for Life Award.

Photographs of the Canadian Environment Awards 2006 gala and biographies of each of this year’s finalists are available at:


For more information, contact:

Diane Chaperon-Lor
Public Relations Manager
Canadian Environment Awards
Tel: 416-653-0849
Email: chaperonlor@canadiangeographic.ca



GOLD: Scouts Canada, Climate Change Education and Action Program, Ottawa, Ontario
SILVER: Alysia Garmulewicz, Canadian Youth Climate Change Conference, New Denver, British Columbia
SILVER: Claude Villeneuve, activist and teacher, Laterrire, Quebec

GOLD: Bill Freedman, Nature Conservancy of Canada, Halifax, Nova Scotia
SILVER: Hritage Saint-Bernard, community-based conservation group, Chteauguay, Quebec
SILVER: Wayne Sawchuk, Muskwa-Kechika Management Area, Chetwynd, British Columbia

GOLD: Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment (CAPE), Operation Pesticide Bylaw, Toronto, Ontario
SILVER: Families Against Radiation Exposure (FARE),
citizens group fighting radioactive pollution, Port Hope, Ontario
SILVER: Groupe Eco-Action, model for sustainable health-care practices, Montral, Quebec

GOLD: Ruth Foster, Centennial School Salmon Project, Belcarra, British Columbia
SILVER: Comit de valorisation de la rivire Beauport, Adopt a River, Beauport, Quebec
SILVER: Paul Hanley, writer and activist, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

GOLD: Comit de restauration de la rivire Etchemin, salmon restoration project, Saint-Lon-de-Standon, Quebec
SILVER: Rivire Vivante, Saint-Charles river restoration, Qubec, Quebec
SILVER: Ralph Simpson, Bur Oak Project, Fredericton, New Brunswick

GOLD: Nicole Rycroft, Markets Initiative, Vancouver, British Columbia
SILVER: Kitchener-Waterloo YMCA Outdoor Centre, eco-friendly outdoor centre and camp, St. Clements, Ontario
SILVER: Quest Outreach Society, food-recovery program, Vancouver, British Columbia

Sedley School, Sedley, Saskatchewan
The Grade 7 and 8 class at Sedley School is doing its part to help restore the vanishing native Saskatchewan prairie. The school-grounds project helps students learn about plant species, hands-on care, cultivation and seed collection and develop an awareness and appreciation for natural heritage and diversity. A potential outdoor classroom, the area is used to monitor bloom times of several indicator species that help plot signs of climate change.

Heart Lake Secondary School, Brampton, Ontario
The environmental club at Heart Lake Secondary School has raised the bar with its comprehensive program: an Earth Week celebration, community cleanups, the promotion and sale of fair trade food, environmental events and speakers, including mentoring of junior schools in their area. The club also helped coordinate the first-ever region wide tree planting where over 100 students from various schools simultaneously planted thousands of trees, plants and shrubs.

Sheila Watt-Cloutier, chair, Inuit Circumpolar Conference and climate-change activist, Iqaluit, Nunavut

Robert Bateman, wildlife artist and naturalist, Saltspring Island, British Columbia

For complete details of the Canadian Environment Awards 2006,
visit www.canadiangeographic.ca/cea2006

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *