National Zero Waste Council welcomes new board

The National Zero Waste Council has announced the Council’s 2021 Management Board. The Board welcomes a strong team of influential circular economy and waste prevention leaders.

The National Zero Waste Council is a leadership initiative of Metro Vancouver bringing together governments, businesses and non-government organizations to advance waste prevention and the transition to a circular economy in Canada. The Council connects key stakeholders with thought leaders to share experiences and new ideas, advocate for change, and advance behavior change with the objective of developing and promoting solutions to some of Canada’s biggest waste challenges. The Council is now more than 150 members strong, with representation from all key sectors of Canada’s economy.

Chair Malcolm Brodie congratulated Jim Downham, CEO of PAC Packaging Consortium, on his re-election as vice-chair of the Management Board. Downham has been a champion on the Management Board for many years. The Council is looking forward to having his continued leadership in 2021.

The Management Board guides the work of the National Zero Waste Council by setting annual strategic priorities, steering projects and demonstrating leadership in their respective organizations through circular economy and waste prevention initiatives.

“2020 brought unexpected hardships but I am proud that our important waste prevention work was able to continue. I am looking forward to a new year with a strong team of leaders to continue our efforts and support Canada in a circular recovery from the pandemic,” said Brodie.

The 2020-2021 Management Board for the National Zero Waste Council is as follows:

  • Alida Kusch, Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA)
  • Allen Langdon, Return-It
  • Angela Griffiths, A&W Food Services Canada
  • Cher Mereweather, Provision Coalition
  • David Fung, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
  • Doug Dobrowlski, Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
  • Glen Munholland, Circular Supply Chains
  • Lyndsay Poaps, Recycling Council of BC (RCBC)
  • Irene Yang, BASF Canada
  • Jae Rao, Surrey Board of Trade
  • Jim Downham, Packaging Consortium (PAC)
  • Julian Radlein, SymbiAudit
  • Julie Dickson, Retail Council of Canada
  • Laura Hardman, Ocean Wise
  • Lincoln Kyne, Lafarge Canada
  • Lorri Nikkel, Second Harvest
  • Louise Schwartz, Recycling Alternative
  • Mairin Loewen, Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
  • Maja Vodanovic, Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal
  • Matt Livingston, Nature’s Path Foods
  • Mike Layton, City of Toronto
  • Mikhael Metauro, Cascades Recovery+
  • Oskar Kwieton, Shape Management
  • Pete Fry, City of Vancouver
  • Raman Johal, London Drugs
  • Sophie Langlois-Blouin, Recyc-Quebec
  • Tonny Colyn, The Salvation Army Thrift Store
  • Vanessa Timmer, One Earth.